Stories from the Field: Using the Canvas in Innovation Classrooms

Advert for Stories from the Field Speaker Series #05 - Maya Hoveskog - Using the Canvas in Innovation Classrooms

Flourishing Business Community
Speakers Series: Stories from the Field #05

Using the Canvas in Innovation Classrooms with Maya Hoveskog

Date: Tuesday September 12
Time: 15h00 UTC – 08h00 PST, 11h00 EDT, 16h00 BST, 17h00 CET, 01h00 JST (+1 day)
Duration: 1 hour
Registration: Required via Eventbrite at bit.ly/SFF05-Register

For our fifth monthly flourishing business community speaker series: stories from the field, the community is delighted to welcome Dr. Maya Hoveskog from Halmstad University, Sweden.

Maya is an Associate Professor in Innovation Management at the School of Business, Innovation and Sustainability, Halmstad University, Sweden.

The School of Business, Innovation and Sustainability is a research and educational environment with a focus on innovation and entrepreneurship for sustainable development. This is where future economists, engineers, environmental scientists and biologists are educated. Sustainability is at the centre of the School of Business, Innovation and Sustainability’s teaching and research, integrating social sciences, industrial management and applied natural sciences.

Maya’s research focuses on innovation processes with a special interest in sustainability-oriented business model innovation and value creation as well as teaching and learning in higher education. She has co-authored numerous scientific publications in these fields. Maya has a particular interest in visualization tools and approaches to support the early phases of the innovation process. She collaborates with colleagues from various disciplines (e.g., environmental studies, design studies, informatics, and humanities). Maya is part of the Board for the International Conference on New Business Models series which serves as a leading platform for spirited dialogue and debate in the field of sustainable business models.

Together with colleagues, Maya is looking into the process and tools for creating business models for sustainability / flourishing business models, and how to implement them in research, education and practice. In particular, she is looking into the role of activities and artefacts in the process of business model innovation through her teaching, applied action-oriented research and research-through-design. Maya’s goal with colleagues is to help innovators ease some of the cognitive load of the complex process of innovation through the use of tools, and the concepts and worldviews that tools present.  

Maya has been using the Flourishing Business Canvas since 2016. In her talk Maya will focus on her experiences using the Flourishing Business Canvas as a crucial tool in the innovation classroom. She will discuss:

  • The role of tools for management decisions
  • What are the settings and objectives when using the Canvas with students?
  • How have students reacted to the Canvas – reflections over time? 
  • What is exciting and challenging about the Canvas?
  • What does Maya hope to gain from participating in the Flourishing Business Community and what can she offer to the community?

At the end of her talk Maya will take questions from members of the community.

After the event a video of the talk plus any slides will be shared in the “Speaker Series” space of the Flourishing Business Community. Please join other flourishing business leaders and become a full member to access.

1 thought on “Stories from the Field: Using the Canvas in Innovation Classrooms”

Leave a Comment